Kaleidoscopic Indie Rockers Black Light White Light Release 'The Admirer' Album

Emotive indie rock band Black Light White Light unveiled their latest full-length album, titled "The Admirer", available on digital platforms, LP, and CD through Forward Backwards Recordings. 

The album features the captivating single and music video "Epilepsy", which Nordic Music Review hailed as their "Single of the Week". With a strong presence in both the UK and the US, the band has garnered widespread support from influential publications such as Clash Magazine, Louder Than War, Drowned in Sound, Guitar World, Artrocker, The Revue, Iggy Magazine, and We Are Cult. They have also received airplay on notable radio stations like BBC Radio 6 Music with Lauren Laverne, Denmark Public Radio broadcaster DR.DK, and Absolute Radio with Frank Skinner and Simon Raymonde.

The album's production boasts an impressive team, with Grammy-winning engineer Kennie Takahashi (known for his work with The Black Keys, Gnarls Barkley, and Broken Bells) handling the mixing, and Danish engineer Casper Hesselager (of Palace Winter fame) and Matt Colton (credited with mastering works for Arctic Monkeys, Depeche Mode, and Thom Yorke) taking care of the mastering. Additionally, the album features strings by Grammy-winning composer Davide Rossi, known for his collaborations with Coldplay, The Verve, and Goldfrapp.

Black Light White Light, hailing from Malmo, Sweden, was formed in 2009 by guitarist, singer, and songwriter Martin Ejlertsen. The band has always had an international perspective, seeking inspiration and collaborations across borders. The creative process for "The Admirer" began in 2019 when Ejlertsen, drummer Viktor Höber, and pianist Pontus Örnstrand set up camp in Viktoria Studio in Copenhagen, Denmark, recording demos in close collaboration with Danish musician and producer Christian Ki. However, due to the pandemic and subsequent border closures, the band was forced to complete the project at Tambourine Studio in their hometown of Malmo, with the assistance of Swedish technician Joar Sylvan.

"The Admirer" is an expansive album that delves into the depths of the human experience. The lead single, "Epilepsy" carries vibrant guitar melodies reminiscent of The Beatles, combining classic rock tones with a gentle indie touch. Black Light White Light shares that the album represents their most personal, versatile, and adventurous release to date. It showcases a fusion of psychedelic rock, cosmic pop, and piano-driven ballads, featuring meandering melodies, layers of keyboards, sizzling delay guitars, and manipulated effects that create an intoxicating mix. The ten songs on the album are accompanied by deeply personal lyrics that explore themes of pain, doubt, love, and confusion.

Here is the tracklist for "The Admirer":

  1. A Mutual Love
  2. Too Tired
  3. Du Är Fin
  4. Epilepsy
  5. The Admirer
  6. Biscuits
  7. The Day Has Come
  8. B.L.W.L.
  9. David Bowie
  10. Beautiful Boy

With "The Admirer," Black Light White Light showcases their artistic growth and presents a captivating collection of songs that will resonate with fans of indie rock and beyond. The album's rich blend of genres and deeply introspective lyrics make it an immersive musical journey worth experiencing.

To stay updated with Black Light White Light, you can follow them below:

Website - Facebook - Twitter - Soundcloud - Youtube - Instagram - Spotify

Header Image Credit: Jannick Boerlum


Post A Comment

You must be signed in to post a comment. Click here to sign in now

You might also like

Theatre Severn’s Jack and the Beanstalk: Fresh, Fun, and Highly Original

Theatre Severn’s Jack and the Beanstalk: Fresh, Fun, and Highly Original

by Ellie Blackwell

Read now