What we are reading: April

Books to watch out for this month

What we are reading: April

There is a lot going on in the book world this month - here is what to keep your eye out for:

Circe by Madeline Miller

e13faa4824099d3078482aeb32815cb25c77b117.jpeg

Previous Orange Prize Winner is back with a new retelling featuring a goddess heroine. Perfect for fans of Greek Mythology, fantasy or even just brilliant and compelling characters!

The Witch Doesn't Burn in this One by Amanda Lovelace

d667101036a680eaec0da45edec773b245b4bc61.jpg

If poetry is your bag you can't miss the sequel to her wonderful feminist collection The Princess Saves Herself in this One - rewriting the archetypes that women are pigeonholed into.

Macbeth by Jo Nesbo

48f70edcf6b28da415e6ca4d3e73e28306d80408.jpg

If a crime version of Shakespeare's grittiest play, rewritten by the king of the genre isn't every book lover's dream then I don't know what is.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

f10c88dc518270566302da98b20bce470f57aa95.jpg

Lily James stars in the adaptation of a historical fiction exploring and celebrating literature and the written word. Out in cinemas this month.

The Women's Prize Shortlist

On 23rd April the 16 strong longlist of women's fiction will be narrowed down to just six contenders so now is a great time to catch up on some of the longlist books you've not read yet.

The Man Booker International Shortlist

The UK's leading book prize organisation has been mired in controversy after changing the nationality of Taiwanese writer Wu Ming-Yi, due to pressure from Beijing, and the organisation has now done a U-turn. While many of us may hold issues with the actions of the Man Booker International Prize, it holds that reading these books and understanding the perspectives and experiences of people worldwide is just as important as ever - starting with Wu Ming-Yi's The Stolen Bicycle.

Author

Ellen Orange

Ellen Orange Voice Reporter

I am a 23 year old Graduate Marketing Assistant from the North East with a passion for arts and writing. I did a BA in English Literature and an MA in Twentieth and Twenty First Century Literature at Durham University, because I love books and reading! I have experience in writing for a variety of student publications, as well as having contributed to Living North, a regional magazine and Culture magazine, a supplement to regional newspaper, The Journal. I have been part of a Young Journalists scheme writing for NewcastleGateshead's Juice Festival, a you people's arts and culture festival, and have since become a Team Juice member. As well as reading and writing, I love theatre, photography and crafts.

Recent posts by this author

View more posts by Ellen Orange

1 Comments

  • Luke Taylor

    On 11 April 2018, 10:11 Luke Taylor commented:

    Hurrah for books! Got any favourites?

Post A Comment

You must be signed in to post a comment. Click here to sign in now

You might also like

sleeping Beauty

sleeping Beauty

by Ruweyda Ali

Read now